Sometimes it’s the little things

Last year I surprised my husband with a vacation to Seattle, Washington for our 12 year anniversary.  We have very fond memories of Seattle.  Wes and I knew each other in high school, but went our separate ways.  Years later when I was living in Seattle and he was here in Utah I got an email, totally out of the blue, asking how I was.  I was in the middle of a divorce, but we struck up a fast friendship and later began dating, long distance.  Every time he’d fly out to Seattle we’d explore and enjoy every minute together.  We eloped in Seattle just months after we’d began dating.  Everyone thought we were crazy.  We knew we weren’t and blissfully ignored the naysayers. It is the best decision I’ve ever made.

So back to the trip.  As we were re-exploring Seattle, on a whim we took a ferry to Bainbridge Island.  If you ever get a chance to visit you absolutely should.  We walked the streets exploring the little shops, picked up fresh berries at the farmers market, ate  uniquely amazing ice cream and soaked in the local charm.  I fantasized about living on a little plot, raising chickens and basking in the views.  It is such a picturesque place.  While in small shop I found the most amazing signs.  I’d seen them before in farm magazines, but absolutely fell in love with them as they lay before me in all their brightly colored glory.  I tried to choose just the right one to take home.  Wes was worried they would cause a problem to bring home, which thinking back I can’t imagine what airport security would have said, “Um, Mam, you can’t bring this metal farm sign on the plane”.  I sighed and put them back.

When Christmas time rolled around a farm sign was one of the first things on my list. Not just any farm sign though, one from Bainbridge Farm Goods.  Have you seen their signs?  I could spend hours trying to decide which one to buy.

DSCF8352

Wes chose this cute little sign for our coop.  Even though I think it would be better suited on a little farm road, instead of the middle of my run, I love the bright colors, the quirky chickens, and the fun font.  Not long after the run was built I move the sign from the kitchen wall to its new place of honor.  I have a feeling I’ll be picking up more signs.  Sometimes it is the little things that can just make a space magical.

Leave a comment