Meet our Featherd Girls and Scratched Cornea

DSCF8223

We got our new hens on April 2nd from a local hatchery when they were just a few days old.  Months in advance we chose each breed carefully and put in our order.  Each of my daughters got to choose a breed they liked best.  Chickens can be pretty funny and as they grow they each develop their own personality.  I let them out for some free time this morning and snapped some pictures.  I can’t believe they are almost 2 months old already.

DSCF8210 My youngest chose a Plymouth Barred Rock.  She wanted this hen because she will grow up to have black and white stripes like a zebra, hence the name Zebra.  Violet named her hen all by herself.  Zebra is the largest of the chicks right now and is very independent.  She actually was being picked on for awhile, which is funny to me.  Being the biggest you’d think she’d be free from getting bullied, but not so.  She has been injury free for a little while, thank heavens.  DSCF8221Cleo, short for Cleopatra, is a Black Australorp.  She got the name Cleopatra because when she was a chick she looked like her eyes were painted just like the old Egyptians.  She isn’t quite as friendly as some of the other hens.  She squawks when we pick her up, but sometimes she’ll settle down.   DSCF8219

Luna, not to be confused with Cleo, is a Black Copper Maran.  She hopefully will lay very dark, chocolate colored eggs.  She is very friendly and is quite content to be held.  One day when I was holding her in the sun, she stretched out her body, content to be with me.

DSCF8214

Rose is a Blue Red Laced Wyandotte. I love the lacing she is getting on her feathers.  She isn’t as blue as I’d like, but it will be interesting to see how her coloring will develop.  She can be friendly, but recently she’s taken to being more independent.

DSCF8240

Lydia’s hen, Sweet Pea, has been quite the character from the start.  She is a Salmon Favorelle, and she is very vocal.  From the day she was little she has cheeped and screeched.  We tried almost everything to keep her quite.  Audio books by the brooder seemed to help. She liked female voices over male voices and she didn’t care much for music.  Luckily she has gotten much more quiet.  She has feathered feet and five toes instead of the usual four.  She complains when we pick her up, but usually settles down and will let us pet her.

DSCF8231

Adelle’s hen, Snow, has become very curious and friendly recently.  She is a Silver Laced Wyandotte.  We have been nervous for a month that she is a he.  Her comb and wattles are very red.  As time has gone by though they haven’t gotten much bigger so I’m thinking she is not a rooster which is a relief.  We aren’t allowed to keep roosters in the suburbs.

DSCF8236

Since she was so friendly this morning she was enjoying hanging out on my arm.  I got the grand idea to take a chicken selfie.  Sure my face was makeup free, and sure it was silly.  What I should have been worried about is my eye and that sharp beak.  Chickens are fast and they love shiny things. Before I knew it she pecked my left eye, hard.  I put her down and came inside to look in the mirror.  Sure enough she scratched my cornea.  Oh, it hurts and I can’t see out of it very well.  Such foolishness.  I know better.  I am praying it will heal quickly.  Who knew chicken keeping could be so hazardous.

4 thoughts on “Meet our Featherd Girls and Scratched Cornea

Leave a Reply

