Reading with the Farm Chick

I usually work between 40-45 hours a week at my desk job.   Sometimes I’ll be at my desk for 11 hours.  To keep my sanity I really love to listen to audio books. Since I can’t be out working in the garden I often find myself gravitating towards books about farms, or interesting people. Here are some of my favorite finds recently.

Dearie: The Remarkable Life of Julie Child by Bob Spitz

Dearie: The Remarkable Life of Julia Child

I absolutely fell in love with this book.  Julie Child is an amazing woman and her life fascinates me.  The author does an excellent job immersing you right into her life.  I learned so much about her and in the end she felt like a dear friend.  I actually got teary at the end of the book.  I got so attached to Julia that I went and got her first two cookbooks.  I have yet to find the energy to try one of her elaborate recipes, but I continue to renew the books through my library system.  I haven’t entirely given up the idea.

Second Nature: A Gardener’s Education by Micheal Pollan

Second Nature: A Gardener's Education

 Micheal Pollan is a pretty well-known author, but I stumbled across this book, which was written several years ago.  I really enjoyed learning about how our American style of landscaping, such as our suburban grass, came about.  I especially loved the little personal stories.  I found myself laughing out loud when Pollan tells about his father’s rebellion against the suburban rules of landscaping.  There is a wealth of information in this book, and I really found myself thinking about our relationship to nature. 

Hit by a Farm: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Barn by Catherine Friend

Hit by a Farm: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Barn

Hit by a Farm is the most comprehensive and personal book I’ve found that deals with what it would be like to just start a farm, without prior knowledge or experience.  Have you ever wanted to know what birthing season is like on a sheep farm?  What about raising chickens for meat?  How about planting a vineyard? Catherine goes into intimate details on these subjects and more.  She gets rid of all the glossy ideas of a farm and thrusts you right into reality.  She also discusses her relationship with her partner who is the driving force behind the farm.  Whatever your thoughts are on same-sex relationships I think this book is a great read.

I am always on the search for something new so what do you like to read?

Leave a Reply

